The library's research databases are online collections of credible, trustworthy sources of information to assist with research. The databases below will help students find articles from periodical sources like academic journals (including those that are peer-reviewed), as well as news and magazine articles. To get a full list of all of the library's research databases, visit the library's "Articles: Research Databases" page using the attached link.
In order to use a database from off-campus, you will be asked to log in using your SCCCD credentials; these will be the same username and password you use to log in to Canvas or your CCC email.
EbscoHost Academic Search Ultimate provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles published in peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, and newspapers.
Using this database will also give you simultaneous access to two other databases on this database list: APA PsycArticles and Psychology & Behavioral Sciences Collection. For more help navigating EbscoHost databases, check the How to Use EBSCOhost Research Guide.
A comprehensive database of full-text peer-reviewed articles covering topics in psychiatry and psychology.
This database provides different information sources (mainly articles from periodicals) related to mental health, with a focus on sources highlighting different perspectives.
Another "In Context" database published by Gale that focuses on the sciences, including health topics. Choose a topic of interest to find articles, reference materials, experiments, websites, and other sources on that topic.
For international viewpoints on mental health, Global Issues in Context provides articles from periodicals, websites, reference materials, and other sources for research.
The Truth About Improving Your Mental Health - Clinical psychologist Professor Tanya Byron teams up with former England footballer Alex Scott, who has suffered from depression, to discover how the latest science can help us gain greater control over our state of mind and improve our mental health and wellbeing
Keyword searches can retrieve many search results, as databases will find and retrieve all sources that mention your keyword(s) at least once anywhere in the text. Basic searches in databases are keyword searches; you choose some basic terms that describe your topic, and you enter these into a basic search box.
Keywords can also be combined using the boolean operator "AND" in between each keyword in order to research a more complex, multifaceted topic. For example:
Below are a few keywords you may want to try to begin a search:
Subjects describe an information source in its entirety and are specifically assigned to a source by a database or other authoritative group. Searching by subject is very precise; normally, not as many search results will be retrieved when searching by subject, but the sources retrieved should be much more relevant.
Advanced search options in library search tools like databases and catalogs make it convenient to search by subject. The challenge is you'll need to find the exact subject terms/phrases to use; to do this, you may have to perform several keyword searches until you find a good source, and locate its subject terms in the item's record. In the previous link to a record from our APA PsycArticles database, notice that there is a subject area on this page. One can either click on a hyperlinked subject to begin a search of just that specific subject, or you can compose a new search using those exact subject terms, perhaps in combination with other subjects or keywords.
You can find more search tips in our Finding Articles Research Guide.