Skip to Main Content

How to Find Articles: Database Tutorials

image of a woman studyingUse the tabs above to access closed-captioned video tutorials that will help you effectively search for information sources using our most popular research databases:

  • EbscoHost Academic Search Complete and Specialized Databases (also applies to searches with Academic Search Ultimate)
  • Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) and Advanced Search capabilities
  • Global Issues (Gale in Context)
  • Jstor
  • Oxford Art Online
  • Literary Reference Center
  • OneSearch Library Catalog (while not technically a database, it is a resource that can search over multiple databases for articles)

Remember that if you need more help, contact us to get research assistance.

EbscoHost icon

EbscoHost Academic Search Ultimate and Specialized Database

EBSCOhost is your top source of multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Specialized databases cover subjects such as psychology, environmental issues, education, health, and political science.

General Tips:

  • Remember to "Choose Databases" before entering your search terms into the search box; select additional databases that are related to your research topic.
  • Check filters on the results page carefully to narrow your results to peer reviewed journal sources, certain publication dates, subjects. etc.
  • Make a note of subjects attached to information sources that you have found helpful, and use those subjects in a new search to find even more sources.
  • Find a good source? Remember to save it or send it using one of the database tools provided, like saving to a Google Drive account, emailing an item, or use the permalink feature. DO NOT save the address in the address bar; it is not a permanent link to a source.
  • Get more help from our dedicated EBSCOhost guide.

 

EBSCOhost Basic Search

EBSCOhost Advanced Search

Opposing Viewpoints icon

Opposing Viewpoints - Gale in Context

This database focuses on social issues. Students can find journal, magazine, and newspaper articles as well as viewpoint essays, topic overviews, and recommended web sites.

More help with this and other Gale databases can be found on the Gale in Context database guide.

Global issues icon

Global Issues - Gale in Context

Offers international viewpoints on global issues. Provides sources for analysis of social, political, science, economic, environmental, health, and cultural issues.

More help with this and other Gale databases can be found on the Gale in Context database guide.

Jstor logo

Jstor

A collection of full-text academic journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences.

JSTOR Basic Search

JSTOR Advanced Search

Oxford Art Online database icon

Oxford Art Online and its extensive Grove Dictionary of Art connect you to thousands of scholarly sources on many different art topics. Find images, peer reviewed articles, and artist biographies—past and present, and from around the world.

Literary Reference Center database icon

Literary Reference Center provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes.

This database is also part of our EBSCOhost specialized database collection, and can be selected as an additional database to search within while in EBSCO.




The library's OneSearch catalog helps you find articles from various periodical sources such as academic journals for peer reviewed articles, and even popular sources like magazines and newspapers, for recent and historical coverage on thousands of topics.

Check out the videos below to help you start a search. While it is not found on our database page, OneSearch is yet another great resource we offer that helps you find what you need for research.