Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use OneSearch: Find EBooks

EBook FAQ

ebook icon

What are eBooks?
EBooks are just like the print books you'd find on the library shelves, except they are available completely online for our students and staff to read. 

What kind of eBooks are available?
Most eBooks consist of non-fiction, research-worthy titles; the Libby eBook collection is a mixture of fiction and non-fiction titles for your reading enjoyment, some of which are novels often required for a number of courses.

Where can I find eBooks?
You can search for eBooks using the OneSearch catalog, or browse the eBook collections on the library's database page (note that Libby content can only be accessed using the link on the database page).

How long can I check them out?
One of the best things about the majority of our eBooks is that they do not need to be checked out, so they will have no due date; simply read an eBook in a browser window, anywhere you have Internet access. Only a small collection of eBooks will have certain limits, like how many people can access the book at a time. Libby eBooks do work best when read using an app on a phone or tablet, but they may be read in an Internet browser; and Libby eBooks will have a "due date" which indicates when the eBook will be automatically returned without you having to take any action (renewal options may be available).

Can I read an eBook if I'm not on campus?
Yes! If you are off campus, reading an eBook or checking out Libby eBooks will require logging in with SCCCD credentials. Use your Canvas/school email username and password to log in.

 

Open Access EBooks

open access lock iconOneSearch also allows you to search for Open Access eBooks, which are online books freely available from entities outside of our organization at no cost to you for research purposes.

To include Open Access eBooks in your search, enter your search terms and search all categories of content by selecting "Articles, Books, and More;" then on the search results page, limit your search again to "Available Online" under "Availabilityand "Books" under the "Format." In your search results, you will notice the phrase "Open Access" accompanies eBooks of this category, along with an orange icon of an open lock.

Opening, reading, and/or downloading an Open Access eBook will vary depending the eBook provider. First follow the "Available Online" links in the search results or item record; then, examine the page you are taken to very carefully to locate hyperlinks that indicate that you may download or read the book for free.

The tutorial video below demonstrates how to use OneSearch to find Open Access resources.

Finding CCC Ebooks with OneSearch

1. Enter your search terms in the catalog's main search box and select the "CCC Library Catalog" category in the dropdown menu.

catalog search box

2. On the search results page, click on "Available Online" in the "Filter your Results" area.

catalog filters

3. Select the "Books" filter under "Format."

catalog books filter screenshot

4. Search results will now display only eBooks. Once you find an item of interest in your search results, click the "Available Online" link for the item to immediately view the eBook. For off campus access, you will be asked to sign in to read the eBook using your Canvas/email credentials (Open Access eBooks do not require signing in; only CCC eBooks).

eBook link screenshot

Alternatively, you can click on the title or book cover to review the entire item record, which includes all of the details surrounding the eBook and links to access the item. Sometimes more than one eBook link will be provided; it means that more than one vendor offers this eBook and you may choose any link you prefer.

Can't Find What You Need?

1) OneSearch won't search all of the library's research databases. In-depth research on a topic may still require searching individual databases on our CCC database page.

2) In terms of books, if you can't find what you need in any SCCCD library, you can fill out an Interlibrary Loan Request to get a title not owned by our system's libraries.

3) Ask a librarian for help; you can drop in, call, email, chat online, or Zoom with a librarian! Check out your research help options on the library page.