LibGuides: Open Educational Resources (OER): Where to Find OER

Community College OER

The following is a list of resources specifically geared towards providing OER for the community college level. While the other repositories listed can also provide support at the community college level, these resources are specifically developed and/or curated for community colleges.

ASCCC-OERI
The ASCCC OER Initiative page of this guide cover resources curated and developed in conjunction with this initiative.
Community College Consortium for OER
The CCCOER collects open access resources for the creation of textbook alternatives, in addition to open content repositories and developmental tools.
Cool4Ed
Cool4Ed or the California Digital Open Source Library, was established through SB 1052 in 2013, directed by the CSU System, and overseen by a board comprising of members from the CSU, UC, and CCC systems. OER materials are discoverable through the Course Materials Showcase through C-ID. (Not sure of your course’s C-ID? Visit the C-ID site for more information.)
OER Commons Hubs
OER Commons allows groups and/or consortia to create repositories of resources used on their campuses. The following are OER Hubs from community college from across the country.

Quick Tip: ISBN Searching in MERLOT

Did you know you can search the ISBN of your textbook into MERLOT and find OER and related ancillaries? From the home page, click the "Advanced Search by ISBN" option under the SmartSearch search box, type in your ISBN, and see what turns up!

Need help finding OER? Ask MOM!

The Mason OER Metafinder (MOM) searches across many of the most popular and well-utilized repositories and websites with open educational materials, ensuring searches are up to date and making it easier to find OER through one search rather than many.

Quick Guide

Connexions
Connexions contains educational materials for everyone - from children to college students to professionals - organized in small modules that are easily connected into larger collections or courses
CORA: Community of Online Research Assignments
It is an open educational resource (OER) for librarians, faculty, and other educators. It is intended to be a collaborative space for adapting and experimenting with research assignments and sharing the success or lessons learned so that others may benefit. The site contains multiple, reliable and reproducible research assignments that do not live as isolated entities, but are enhanced by user feedback in order to build a rich corpus of best practices. There is also a Teaching Toolkit featuring a wide range of resource types including pedagogy/theory, assessment, classroom activities, technology tips, subject guides, citation tools, and information literacy tutorials.
GALILEO Open Learning Materials
GALILEO is a repository for open learning materials created through Affordable Learning Georgia and it's related initiatives and grants.
NanoHUB
Provides over 1600 open teaching and learning resources: online presentations; course material; learning modules; podcasts; simulation tools.
OER Commons Curated Collections
"We are busy around the clock adding new educational resources to OER Commons. We work with the finest producers of instructional content in the world and gather their best work together especially for you. Then we ensure the resources are carefully described and fully indexed because we want you to be able to find exactly what you need, when you need it."
Open Course Library
Range of materials including syllabi, course activities, and assessments created by faculty, instructional designers, librarians, other experts. Some of these materials are intended to be paired with textbooks.
Open Courseware Consortium
Free and open digital publication of high quality educational materials, organized as courses.
Open Modernisms
Open Modernisms is a Creative-Commons-licensed (CC-BY) resource that allows users to search, remix and create customized content using primary source works in the humanities from approximately 1850-1950. All items are in the public domain in Canada, where the site originates. Instructors and scholars of modernism can build custom anthologies or coursepacks.
Open Washington
Open Washington has put together a compilation of links to open resources, organized by type.
OPoliSci
Open Political Science's mission is to serve as a stable repository of political science OER, including textbooks, workbooks, journal articles, and assignments & rubrics.
Pressbooks Directory
A directory of all of the books published through PressbooksEDU. Take the tour to learn how to search and narrow by subject or CC license.
Saylor
The Saylor Foundation's free education initiative has focused on driving the cost of education to zero and expand access to quality open educational resources. To date there are over 270 free, self-paced, college level courses, created by credentialed professors.
SmARThistory
A free and open, online, not-for-profit art history textbook with complete multimedia content.
Student PIRGs: Open Textbooks
A catalog of information about some of the top examples of open college textbooks, offered online under a license allowing free digital access and inexpensive print options. Material can be easily modified to fit your needs.
Textbook Media
Offers a number of e-Textbooks sorted by author and topic
WikiEducator
An evolving online community intended for the planning of education projects linked with the development of free content and the development of free content on WikiEducator for free learning.

Major OER Repositories

Links to More OER Repositories

Homework Systems

Sometimes, making the jump to OER is complicated by the need for homework systems. Fortunately, there are a few options:

MyOpenMath is an openly licensed assessment platform that covers several commonly taught math and physics courses. The ASCCC-OERI has created a helpful guide for using this system (opens in MS Word).
H5P is an easy-to-use content creator for interactive activities. The ASCCC-OERI has also created a guide for using H5P (opens in MS Word).

The ASCCC-OERI has evaluated both of these platforms and determined that there are some issues with accessibility, so the aforementioned guides provide information on authoring content that is accessible in these platforms.