LibGuides: Infectious Diseases: Articles and Databases

Library Databases

All current students, faculty, and staff have full, free access to all of the library's research databases. A great way to start a search for articles and would be to use one of the databases below.

When accessing research databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in and enter your SCCCD student ID number for your username and your Canvas/email password.

You can get a full list of databases on the A to Z database page.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Opening this database and selecting "choose databases" will allow you to also search the three other recommended EBSCOhost specialized databases on this page simultaneously; Health Source, Medline with Full Text, and Science & Technology.
For additional help searching this database and other EBSCOhost databases, check our EBSCOhost Research Guide for video tutorials and search tips.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
Health Source: This is a trusted full-text database covering nursing and allied health topics, including pediatric nursing, critical care, mental health, nursing management, medical law, and more.
MEDLINE with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database provides authoritative information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and pre-clinical sciences, with full text for more than 1,470 journals.
Salem Press This link opens in a new window
A collection of top Salem Press reference works, including resources on health. The database specializes in providing eBook versions of the titles; should you require a Salem Press title in print, they can be found using the catalog.
Science & Technology Collection This link opens in a new window
A foundational full-text science database providing scholarly journals that cover an array of science subjects, including chemistry, biology, computer technology, and physics.
Science in Context This link opens in a new window
Articles, experiments, pictures, biographies, and recommended websites from over 200 magazines, academic journals, and reference sources.

What are Peer Reviewed Journal Articles?

If you need help understanding scholarly sources and what "peer review" refers to in terms of journal articles, please check our guide on finding articles for research.

Articles in PubMed

PubMed

PubMed is a free online search engine accessing published literature from the MEDLINE database. PubMed includes over 30 million citations and many full-text journal articles and other content from biomedical literature.

PubMed is created by the National Library of Medicine
Covers areas in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, and the health care system
PubMed is structured around a list of subject terms, commonly referred to as MeSH (Medical Subject Headings)

For any questions about using PubMed (search tips, peer review status, etc.), please visit the website's FAQ page.

Find Journal Articles with OneSearch

The OneSearch library catalog helps you find articles by searching several of the library's databases at once, and you can expand your search to Open Access articles—journal articles that are 100% free to you and available online without any special sign-in's or credentials.