LibGuides: Infectious Diseases: Websites

Scholarly Websites

Mayo Clinic
The Mayo Clinic is a nonprofit organization that provides expertise on clinical practice, education, and research.
CDC Office of Infectious Disease
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is a national resource that provides guidelines to state public health institutions and hospitals for local administration.
MedlinePlus
An online health information resource for visitors of any background. It is a service of the National Library of Medicine (NLM), the world's largest medical library.

• Provides overviews, credible web resources, and current research on diseases and conditions
• Offers information on health topics, human genetics, medical tests, medications, dietary supplements, and healthy recipes
• Sourced from more than 1,600 selected organizations
• Provides 40,000 links to authoritative health information
Merck Manual
The Merck Manual provides free articles and resources on thousands of topics in the medical field.

International Committee on Taxonomy (ICTV) of Viruses
The ICTV is concerned with the designation and naming of virus taxa (i.e. species, genus, family, etc.) rather than the designation of virus common names or disease names. Their search box is useful for finding relevant reports and data quickly from the entire site.
NCBI Taxonomy Database
The Taxonomy Database is a curated classification and nomenclature for all of the organisms in the public sequence databases. This currently represents about 10% of the described species of life on the planet.

Disease and Outbreak Information from the World Health Organization
The W.H.O. is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends. Their Fact Sheets are especially worth reviewing for your research topic.

Center for Infectious Disease Research and Policy
Includes information on a number of infectious diseases.
Infectious Diseases Society of America
Includes standards and practice guidelines, links to journals and publications, meeting information, and a calendar of events.
National Foundation for Infectious Diseases
Includes CME offerings, fellowship information, fact sheets, etc.
HealthMap Contagious Disease Surveillance
Founded in 2006 by a team of researchers, epidemiologists and software developers at Boston Children's Hospital, HealthMap is an established global leader in utilizing online informal sources for disease outbreak monitoring and real-time surveillance of emerging public health threats.