LibGuides: LGBTQ+ Resources: Web Resources

Campus Resources

CCC Campus Health Services
Clovis Community College offers a variety of complementary health services to enrolled students, including mental health and psychological services.
Chosen/Preferred Name Request
This form will update the SCCCD Canvas system with your chosen name. Note, however, that you would need to contact CCC Admissions and Records with a legal name change through a court to take effect on your permanent student records.
Title IX
"Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972 (“Title IX”), 20 U.S.C. §1681 et seq., is a Federal civil rights law that prohibits discrimination on the basis of sex in education programs and activities." Your rights under Title IX are listed in depth on the Clovis Community College Title IX info page. You may also use this page to report issues regarding discrimination to campus personnel, or report a hate crime with the State Center Community College District Police Department.

More Local Resources

Arne Nixon Center
Located in the library at Fresno State, The Arne Nixon Center for the Study of Children's Literature has a unique collection of about 1,500 LGBTQ themed books for children and young adults.
Equality California
Non-profit organization that advocates for LGBT people through programs, legislation, education, and events
Fresno Pride
Local non-profit that provides services, sponsors events, and promotes networking opportunities to the LGBT community
Gender and/or Name Changes - California Courts Self-Help
Under "Get Information about a Legal Topic" you will find steps and resources for obtaining a recognition of a change of gender, name change, or both, in our state
LGBT Fresno
Provides resources, news, education, and support to the Fresno LGBT community in Fresno and the surrounding areas
LGBTQ+ Resource Center - Fresno E.O.C.
Provides a number of services "to enhance the health and well being of individuals of all ages in the LGBTQ+ community" including virtual support groups, medical resources, and housing support
Marjaree Mason Center
Fresno-based organization provides counseling, legal services, a crisis line, and emergency shelter for those experiencing domestic violence
Parents, Families and Friends of Lesbians and Gays [PFLAG]
National, non-profit organization, now with a local Fresno chapter
Trans-E-Motion
Local organization offering regular group support and other programs and events to the transgender community

General Resources

31 Queer Pride Flags to Know
From The Advocate online
The Advocate
LGBT magazine that has published news and commentary of interest to the community since 1967
Gender Pronouns - University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee
Additional personal gender pronouns guide from the UWM's LGBTQ+ Resource Center
A Guide to Gender Identity Terms: National Public Radio (NPR)
FAQ and glossary of gender terms primarily used in the U.S. compiled by the organization in order "to help people communicate accurately and respectfully with one another"
Municipal Equality Index [MEI] 2021: The Human Rights Campaign
The MEI examines the "non-discrimination laws, the municipality as an employer, municipal services, law enforcement and the city leadership's public position on equality" of just over 500 U.S. cities to determine how inclusive they are to LGBTQ individuals
MyPronouns.org
Provides guidance and information on the use of personal pronouns
The Williams Institute - UCLA School of Law
Public policy research institution that focuses on issues that impact the LGBT community and publicizes its data

Support

Athelte Ally
Organization promoting inclusion and nondiscrimination of LGBTQ athletes; offers an Athletic Equality Index tool that assesses LGBTQ policies in NCAA D-1 athletic departments
Family Acceptance Project
San Francisco State University's "research, education and training program that helps families to support their LGBTQ children"
G.L.A.A.D.
Group dedicated to ending discrimination against LGBT persons in the media and promote inclusiveness
Human Rights Campaign
A national LGBTQ civil rights organization
It Gets Better
Offers connections to the worldwide LGBTQ+ community
Lambda Legal
National nonprofit which provides no cost legal representation to the LGBT community and to those living with HIV
LGBTQ Rights - ACLU
Area of the American Civil Liberties Union pertaining to the rights of LGBT people and the challenges they face
LGBT Rights - Human Rights Watch
Organization that reports worldwide human rights issues and news
Modern Military Association of America
Non-profit organization providing services and support to the LGBTQ military and veteran community
National LGBTQ Task Force
Group dedicated to mobilizing individuals to remove the barriers which LGBT persons face in their daily lives

History

Digital Transgender Archive
Access to an extensive, worldwide transgender historical materials, primarily pre-2000s, in over a dozen categories
GLBT Historical Society Museum & Archives
This first-of-its-kind museum offers audiovisual and ephemeral collections online
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender and Queer Pride Month - Library of Congress
History of the events held in June in honor of the 1969 Stonewall Uprising in New York City
Stonewall National Museum Archives & Library
Collections that chronicle LGBTQIA+ history in America
Stonewall Uprising Collection - American Archive of Public Broadcasting
Full interviews from the 2011 PBS American Experience documentary "Stonewall Uprising"

Health

Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Health - CDC
The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention is a national resource that provides guidelines to state public health institutions and hospitals for local administration. This site helps provide information and resources on important health issues that affect the LGBT community
LGBTQ+ Health - Medline Plus
Government website that provides overviews, credible web resources, and current research on diseases. This page presents information about specific health issues affecting gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender individuals
National Coalition for LGBTQ Health
"Committed to improving the health and well-being of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals through federal and local advocacy, education, and research"
PleasePrEPme.org
A program that connects individuals at risk for contracting HIV to medical providers that provide pre-exposure prophylaxis, or PrEP, which has been shown to reduce the risk of contracting HIV by nearly 99% when taken regularly
World Professional Association for Transgender Health
Nonprofit professional and educational organization that focuses on transgender health with resources for health care professionals and individuals, including a medical provider search tool

Reach Out: Local and National Help Lines

Central Valley Crisis and Suicide Prevention Hotline
1-888-506-5991
Central Valley Suicide Prevention Lifeline
1-800-273-8255
Crisis Text Line
Text HOME to 741741
LGBT National Hotline
Main line 888-843-4564; Youth up to 23 y.o. 800-246-7743; Seniors 50+ 888-234-7243.
Trans Lifeline
877-565-8860
The Trevor Project
866-488-7386 or text START to 678678

* Those in the LGBTQIA+ community face risks that make them more susceptible to mental health conditions. Read more on this topic in the 2022 Trevor Project National Survey on LGBTQ Youth Mental Health and from the National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI).

More of Us than you Think Pin

MacKay, Xanthra Phillippa, Genderpress, and Ross, Mirha-Soleil. "There are more of us than you think!."
Physical Object. 1990. From the Digital Transgender Archive

LGBTQ+ Resources: Web Resources