The library's research databases are where you can find credible, trustworthy sources of information to assist with research. They are provided at no extra cost to our community. A full list of available databases can be found on our Articles: Research Databases page.
To use databases off-campus, log in using your SCCCD credentials (the same username and password you use to log in to Canvas or CCC email).
Search for articles from popular (magazines, newspapers) and scholarly periodicals (academic journals) using the databases below. If you are off campus, you will be asked to log in using your SCCCD credentials (the same username and password you use for Canvas or your school email).
There are several topics available from this database, including the following: LGBTQ+ Parents, LGBTQ+ Community and Military Service, Anti-LGBTQ+ Discrimination, Bullying, and Violence, and LGBTQ+ Community Equality
Topics of interest in Global Issues include Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, and Queer (LGBTQ) Rights; Culture and Gender; Adoption by LGBTQ+ Parents; and Same-sex Marriage.
Choose the "Browse People" link ("light bulb icon" near the top right side of the database home page); then using the "Topics" drop-down menu that appears on the left side, select "LGBTQIA+ Figures."
You may also search for biographies by entering the individual's name in the search box on the main page of the database.
American Experience: Casa Susanna
Rock Hudson: All that Heaven Allowed
Not a Boy, Not a Girl
Olly Alexander: Growing Up Gay