Studying Civil Rights - The Justice Archives - Von Torres - LibGuides at Clovis Community College (CA)

SNCC Digital Gateway

SNCC Digital Gateway
The Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee (SNCC) (pronounced SNICK) was the only national civil rights organization led by young people. SNCC was organized in 1960 and mentored by the legendary Black organizer, Ella Baker. This website offers powerful tools to learn about the history and accomplishments of SNCC.

The SNCC focused on voter registration and on mounting a systemic challenge to the white supremacy that governed the country’s entrenched political, economic and social structures.
more...less...
Photograph of Ella Baker, 1964, Danny Lyon, Memories of the Southern Civil Rights Movement 12, https://ellabakercenter.org/wp-content/uploads/2020/12/Ella-Baker.jpg

Content description from the SNCC Digital Gateway.

Disability Rights

Jesse Jackson shaking hands with disability advocate Justin Dart Jr., who is in a wheelchair, during a hearing of the House Committee on Education and Labor on a bill which became the Americans with Disabilities Act by Michael R. Jenkins, July 17, 1989

The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA), protects people’s rights for employment, public accommodations, state and local government services, and more.

A Guide to Disability Rights Laws
This guide is published by the The U.S. Department of Justice’s Civil Rights Division, outlines the various laws that ensure equal opportunity for people with disabilities.
Your Legal Disability Rights
On this website the U.S. Government Services and Information provides an overview about your legal disability rights and what you can do if you need to file a complaint.
The American Association of People with Disabilities
The American Association of People with Disabilities works to increase the political and economic power of people with disabilities.

As a national disability-led and cross-disability rights organization, AAPD advocates for full civil rights for over 60 million Americans with disabilities. We do this by promoting equal opportunity, economic power, independent living, and political participation.

Redlining

The 1938 Home Owners’ Loan Corporation map of Brooklyn.Credit...National Archives and Records Administration, Mapping Inequality

"Redlining: a discriminatory practice that puts services (financial and otherwise) out of reach for residents of certain areas based on race or ethnicity."

Hayes, Adam. "What is Redlining?" Investopeida, 21 Oct. 2021, www.investopedia.com/terms/r/redlining.asp. Accessed 8 Aug. 2022.

Exploring Race in Society

Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Sources related to current and historical issues on race in society, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness, including scholarly journal articles, essays, and primary sources such as reports from government agencies.

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States
A website developed by ProQuest focused on Black Freedom, featuring select primary source documents related to critical people and events in African American history. ProQuest's intention is to support a wide range of students (see examples for using in teaching and learning), as well independent researchers and anyone interested in learning more about the foundation of ongoing racial injustice in the U.S. – and the fights against it.
from https://blackfreedom.proquest.com/about/
more...less...
Image credits for the screenshot of webpage https://blackfreedom.proquest.com/image-credits/

Library of Congress, Civil Rights History Project

Library of Congress, Civil Rights History Project
The Civil Rights History Project is a legally mandated initiative to conduct a national survey of existing oral history collections with relevance to the Civil Rights movement to obtain justice, freedom and equality for African Americans and to record and make widely accessible new interviews with people who participated in the struggle. The project is under the direction of the Library of Congress and the Smithsonian Institution's National Museum of African American History and Culture.
more...less...
Content description from the Library of Congress, Civil Rights History Project.

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project

Farmworker Movement Documentation Project
The Farmworker Movement Documentation Project is presented by the UC San Diego Library. The collection represents primary source accounts: photographs, oral histories, videos, essays and historical documents from the United Farm Worker Delano Grape Strikers and UFW Volunteers. Compiled / Published by LeRoy Chatfield ©2004-2012
more...less...
Content description from the Farmworker Movement Documentation Project.

Women's Right to Vote

National Archives: Woman Suffrage and the 19th Amendment
The National Archives provides background information and history on women’s suffrage (the right to vote in political elections) and the 19th Amendment. Read about the background, click the plus button for additional background information, and check out the primary resources that include photos and documents from this era.
more...less...
Photograph 306-N-70-2641; Photograph of Flag Bearer for Women's Rights Standing Near White House; 1/30/1917; Photographs of U.S. and Foreign Personalities, World Events, and American Economic, Social, and Cultural Life, ca. 1953 - ca. 1994; Records of the U.S. Information Agency, Record Group 306; National Archives at College Park, College Park, MD. [Online Version, https://www.docsteach.org/documents/document/flag-bearer-womens-rights, September 18, 2020]

Content description from the National Archives: Woman Suffrage and the 19th Amendment.

Civil Rights Digital Library

Civil Rights Digital Library
The Civil Rights Digital Library Initiative represents one of the most ambitious and comprehensive efforts to date to deliver educational content on the Civil Rights Movement via the Web.

This digital library serves as a single access point to locate more than 170 digital collections, including resources from Universities and the Library of Congress.
more...less...
Photo 10 Mile March for Freedom,
Indianapolis Recorder Collection, Indiana Historical Society, Licensed to be used by schools or libraries for study, research or classroom teaching without permission.

Content description from the Civil Rights Digital Library.

1619 Project

The 1619 Project
The 1619 Project is an ongoing initiative from The New York Times Magazine that began in August 2019, the 400th anniversary of the beginning of American slavery. It aims to reframe the country’s history by placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of black Americans at the very center of our national narrative.
more...less...
Content from The 1619 Project

If you need access to the New York Times, go to Clovis Community College NYT Account to set up your free account. Once you have a username and password, you can access The New York Times and its content directly.

Call Number: E441.A15 2021
ISBN: 9780593230572
Publication Date: 2021
The 1619 Project tells this new origin story, placing the consequences of slavery and the contributions of Black Americans at the center of the story we tell ourselves about who we are as a country.

The Justice Archives - Von Torres: Studying Civil Rights

Civil Rights and Civil Liberties