Exploring Economic Justice

Everyone, as a member of society, has the right to social security and is entitled to realization, through national effort and international co-operation and in accordance with the organization and resources of each State, of the economic, social and cultural rights indispensable for his dignity and the free development of his personality. United Nations General Assembly. Article 22 of The Universal Declaration of Human Rights (UDHR). New York: United Nations General Assembly, 1948.

Economic Justice in The Encyclopedia of Social Justice
Social work often refers to economic justice but rarely considers what economic justice truly entails. This article discusses the rationale for social workers to be knowledgeable of and involved with economic justice initiatives. It specifies several areas that comprise an economic justice agenda. Examples of advocacy and organizations which lead the campaigns are discussed. Six realms of economic justice are discussed: Inequality, workplace rights, living wage levels and minimum wages, immigrant rights in the workplace, community–labor partnerships, and social programs that support working families and individuals. (From "Summary" of article)

Gale in Context Opposing Viewpoints

Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Focuses on social issues. Provides journal, magazine, and newspaper articles as well as viewpoint essays, topic overviews, and recommended web sites.

Below are some issue topics available in Opposing Viewpoints that you can use to jumpstart your research.

Other Resources

Southern Poverty Law Center: Economic Justice
Civil rights lawyers Morris Dees and Joseph Levin Jr. founded the SPLC in 1971 to ensure that the promise of the civil rights movement became a reality for all. Since then, we’ve won numerous landmark legal victories on behalf of the exploited, the powerless and the forgotten. (from about us)

Pew Research Center: Income, Wealth & Poverty
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions. (from "About us")

Poverty in the United States: Explore the Map - Hunger & Food Insecurity

Researching in EBSCOhost

Once you have a more narrow idea of your topic, you may want to search for peer reviewed articles that are published in academic databases. Below are some databases in EBSCOhost that you may find useful.

Here are some Keywords you may find helpful when searching for articles:

Economic Injustice
Income Inequality
Minimum Wage
Universal Basic Income
Safety Net for the Poor
Predatory Lending
Cycle of Court Debt

For more information on how to use academic databases, visit the Finding Articles tab in this guide.

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Specialized databases cover subjects such as psychology, religion, health, and political science.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find essential materials related to social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.

Libby

Libby This link opens in a new window
A growing collection digital audiobooks and eBooks of course-related and popular fiction and non-fiction books. Listen to or read books using your web browser or download the app on your mobile device.