Research - Articles and More - Hispanic Heritage Month - LibGuides at Clovis Community College (CA)

Useful Databases

Library databases connect you to thousands of sources of credible, trustworthy, and scholarly information at no extra cost. Here is a selection of databases that you may find especially useful on our topic; the rest of our databases can be found on the library database page.

To use databases off-campus, sign in using your Canvas/SCCCD e-mail credentials.

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search Ultimate provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Specialized databases cover subjects such as psychology, religion, health, and political science.
JSTOR
A collection of full-text academic journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences dating from the earliest volumes to within the last 3-5 years.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context
Focuses on social issues. Provides journal, magazine, and newspaper articles as well as viewpoint essays, topic overviews, and recommended web sites.
Biography In Context
The "Person Search" area of the database allows you to search for individuals by their nationality or ethnicity. If you "Browse People," you can also use the dropdown menu for a list of only Hispanic Americans.
Films on Demand
A comprehensive streaming video database of closed-captioned educational videos covering a wide range of topics.
CountryWatch
A current source of socio-demographic, cultural, historical, economic, political, and environmental information on all countries and many non-sovereign nations.
Latino Social and Political Culture and History In Context
Find primary sources like personal and organizational papers, photographs, and correspondence related to Chicano history in areas such as the United Farm Workers, student movements, and the Bracero Program.

OneSearch Catalog

Search for books, eBooks, articles, and other information sources with the library's OneSearch catalog. Everyone at CCC will have an existing library account that can be accessed using the same credentials used to sign in to Canvas or SCCCD email. Use your account to renew, request, and save items. More help with using the library catalog can be found on our OneSearch research guide.

Search Tips

magnifying glass image When using the catalog and research databases, try a keyword search that combines a topic of your choice and add Hispanic or Latino to your search (the terms "Hispanic" and "Latino" are often used interchangeably for the purposes of categorizing materials in libraries). Latinx has also entered our terminology, and may also be used in combination with "Hispanic" or "Latino," or used on its own in a search.

Searching by the name of a country followed by a topic may also provide useful search results.

Searching for the subject term "Spanish Language Materials" in the library catalog will help return results that contain text in Spanish.

Some Search Examples:

Hispanic AND "performing arts"

literature AND Latino OR Latinx

history AND Cuba

broadcasting AND Mexico

Did you notice how some words are capitalized and the use of quotation marks on certain phrases? Learn more about these special search techniques on the "Search Tips" page of the CCC Library's Finding Articles research guide.

Hispanic Heritage Month: Research - Articles and More