Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

How to Use the Gale In Context Databases: Home

About this Guide

This guide provides help and tutorials for each of the Gale in Context databases available through the library. Use the tabs at the top of this page to navigate to the help page of your choice, or choose one of the databases on this page to get started.


About the Gale In Context Research Databases

tiled Gale database iconThe Gale in Context databases connects you to thousands of credible sources of information on popular research topics and biographical information. Sources found in these databases include academic journal articles, reference sources like encyclopedias, magazine and news articles, primary sources, websites, images, and more. 

All databases offer basic and advanced search options. Browsing among different categories of topics is supported, which makes Gale in Context databases an excellent starting point for research topic selection. Find ample background information on topics that will help you with in-depth research later. Lastly, the Gale in Context databases offer useful saving and sending tools for gathering and sharing resources, and also support exporting citations to NoodleTools.

For off-campus access to these databases, you will be prompted to log in with your SCCCD Canvas/email password. If you are new to research and would like to get acquainted with databases, check out our Finding Articles research guide.

Biography in Context   Gale Global Issues    Gale Opposing Viewpoints    Gale Science