LibGuides: Career Research: Explore Your Career Options

Books Available for Checkout at Clovis Community College Library

What Color Is Your Parachute? 2017 by Richard N. Bolles
Call Number: HF 5382.7 .B65 2017
Careers: The Ultimate Guide to Planning Your Future by Sarah Pawlewski
Call Number: HF 5381.2 .C377 2015
Do What You Are by Paul D. Tieger; Barbara Barron; Kelly Tieger
Call Number: BF 698.9 .O3 T54 2014

Search for Books

Did you know Clovis Community College Library offers a wide range of career resources for checkout? Browse the catalog to see what's available to you.

Here are a few subject heading searches to get you started...

Career Choice
Occupations
Jobs
Green Careers
Health Careers
College Majors

Career Technical Education (CTE) Programs

Want to get started with your career in just a couple semesters? One of Clovis Community College's Career & Technical Education (CTE) programs may be a good fit for you!

The college offers a wide variety of vocational education programs to prepare students for employment and help them enter competitive career fields.

Visit the CTE page on the Clovis Community College website to learn more about the full range of programs offered, and view informational videos about some of the programs (such as Mechatronics, Information Technology, and Waste Water Management) on the college's YouTube channel.

Resources for Career Exploration

Vocational Studies Premier This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text journals and books selected for students enrolled in vocational programs including law enforcement and criminology, computers, and graphic arts.
Eureka This link opens in a new window
A school-to-career database that provides information on colleges, universities, scholarships, occupations, and job search techniques.

Occupational Outlook Handbook (US Bureau of Labor Statistics)
This free online resource from the US Bureau of Labor Statistics provides overviews of occupations and projections for employment over the next decade.
Career Outlook
The U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics offers articles, information, and date on various career-focused topics, such as occupations, industries, pay and benefits.
O*NET Online
This free online resource sponsored by the US Department of Labor provides standardized descriptions of hundreds of jobs. Search by the name of a specific job, by general work areas, or by skills.
CareerOneStop
Sponsored by the US Department of Labor, this site provides substantial information on specific jobs, information on resumes and job searching, educational opportunities, worker and employer legal rights and regulations, plus links to many other related websites.
CareerOneStop YouTube channel
Watch short videos to learn about careers in various fields.
The Career Project
Get the "inside scoop" as to what it's really like to work in a given career field--from the people who work them.
O*NET Interest Profiler
This interactive tool matches personality traits and interests with job activities and careers.
What Can I Do With This Major?
Whether you’re exploring majors or searching for information about your chosen field, this website will help you connect majors to careers. Learn about typical career areas and types of employers that hire people with each major, as well as strategies to make you a more marketable candidate.
My Skills My Future
Interested in pursuing a new career? This easy-to-use website allows you to type in your current career, find related careers, and links directly to training/education opportunities and related job listings. A partnership between the US Dept. of Labor and CareerOneStop.
EDD Resources for Job Seekers
Find out about job openings and job training programs and find out which jobs will be in high demand in the future. From the State of California Employment Development Department.
California Career Zone
Career and industry information tailored toward California jobseekers. Use this site to to assess your interests and match those up with careers in the database. “Get a Reality Check” to create a budget based on estimated costs of living in your city of choice within California.
Career Village
Live chat or post questions and get free, personalized answers and career advice from professionals who work in your field of interest.

Exploring Careers: A Young Person's Guide to 1,000 Jobs (eBook) by JIST Publishing Staff
Do What You Are: Discover the Perfect Career For You Through the Secrets of Personality Type by Paul D. Tieger; Barbara Barron; Kelly Tieger
Call Number: BF 698.9 .O3 T54 2014
Careers : The Graphic Guide to Finding the Perfect Job For You by Dorling Kindersley Publishing Staff
Call Number: HF 5381.2 .C377 2015
Changing Course, Changing Careers (eBook) by Mary Ann Bailey
What Color Is Your Parachute? 2019 by Richard N. Bolles
Call Number: HF 5383 .B56 2018
Alternative Careers in Science (eBook) by Cynthia Robbins-Roth (Editor)

Salary & Income Potential

Wage Estimates by State
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.
National Compensation Survey
From the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics.