Guide to the American Revolution, 1763-1783
"The digital collections of the Library of Congress contain a wide variety of material associated with the American Revolution, including manuscripts, broadsides, government documents, books, and maps. This guide compiles links to digital materials related to the American Revolution that are available throughout the Library of Congress Web site. In addition, it provides links to external Web sites focusing on the American Revolution and a bibliography containing selections for both general and younger readers."
American Independence
Part of the Internet Modern History Sourcebook from Fordham University.
The American Revolution and the New Nation, 1763-1815
Primary Documents of American History (Virtual Programs & Services, Library of Congress).
American Revolution Documents
Documents of the American Revolution provided by TeachingAmericanHistory.org
Avalon Project - The American Revolution
The Avalon Project is maintained by the Lillian Goldman Law Library of the Yale Law School. This page contains digital documents in chronological order from 1764-1783.
Coming of the American Revolution
Brief explanations of the events leading up the Revolution with supporting primary documents. Created by the Massachusetts Historical Society with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities. “By investigating the lives and events recorded in newspapers, official documents and personal correspondence from our collection, you will immerse yourself in the past and discover the fears, friction and turmoil that shaped these tumultuous times. " The Massachusetts Historical Society.
Founders Online
"Through this website, you will be able to read and search through thousands of records from George Washington, Benjamin Franklin, Alexander Hamilton, John Adams, Thomas Jefferson, and James Madison and see firsthand the growth of democracy and the birth of the Republic. "
Image collection from the John Carter Brown Library
“This site includes the Archive of Early American Images, the Map Collection, and the Political Cartoon Collection.”
Images of the American Revolution from the National Archives
Several documents and engravings held by the National Archives.
Liberty!: The American Revolution
This site was launched as companion site to the PBS documentary Liberty!: The American Revolution.
Official companion site to the PBS documentary series Liberty! Created by H-Net, Humanities and Social Sciences Online with funding from the National Endowment for the Humanities.
The American Revolution