Skip to Main Content

Citation Help and Plagiarism Awareness: NoodleTools

NoodleTools Help and Tutorials

NoodleTools helps you create citations in MLA, APA, and Chicago/Turabian citation styles. Use NoodleTools to track your sources, take notes, create outlines, and collaborate with classmates. Saving and exporting your work into different file formats with NoodleTools is very convenient, too. Sign up for a FREE account today!

All of the information you need to get started is right here on this page; explore the tabs above to learn how to use NoodleTools:

  • Creating a NoodleTools account
  • MLA citations (9th Edition)
  • APA citations (7th Edition)
  • Exporting Citations from research databases
  • Share a project with a student or instructor
  • Revalidate a NoodleTools account
  • Create and export a fully formatted annotated bibliography
  1. Access NoodleTools from a link provided by the library, e.g., the library's How to Cite page or the Research Databases page (for off campus access, sign in to use this resource using your Canvas/Email credentials).
  2. Click on "Register" (logging in through the other options is not currently supported).
  3. On the next page, register under the "school/library subscription" option.
  4. Choose your individual role, and select your expected year of graduation, if applicable.
  5. Create a personal ID. Note that this is a user name you create for yourself, not your student ID.
  6. Fill in the rest of the required information and select "Register."
  7. Once signed into NoodleTools, you are taken to the Projects area.
  8. Click on +New Project and give your project a title (e.g., “ENGL 1A” or "Comm 1"), choose a Citation style (i.e. MLA or APA), and select Advanced for the Citation Level.
  9. Your new project will be created and placed in your projects list. Start adding citations by selecting "New Source."

  1. Log in to NoodleTools and create an MLA NoodleTools project, or open a MLA project you've previously made.
  2. Click on the sources tab for the project at the top of the page.
  3. Click on "+ New Source."
  4. Answer the questions here about the type of resource you want to cite (did you find it in a database? In a book? Is it an image? etc.).
  5. When the citation form appears, enter as much information as you can about your source.
  6. Click Save.
  7. You will be taken back to the sources area of the project and you will find your new citation will be in the list.

Need help with your in-text citations? Select the "Options" button on the far right side of a citation and click "in-text citation" for examples, rules, and guidance.

  1. Log in to NoodleTools and open or create an APA NoodleTools project.
  2. Click on "+ New Source" at the top of the project page to start creating a citation.
  3. Begin by answering the questions about where you found your source.
  4. Next you will be taken to the full citation form; enter as much information as you can about your source.
  5. Click Save.
  6. Your citation will be saved, and you are taken back to the sources area of your project.

Need help with your in-text citations? Select the "three dot option" button on the far right side of a citation and click "in-text citation" for examples, rules, and guidance.

While searching some of the library's research databases, you can quickly export the citation of an item directly from the database and into a NoodleTools project. Exporting citations allows you to fix any errors in database-generated citations with NoodleTools, plus you can gather useful sources while you research. Use the videos below to learn how to export citations into NoodleTools using these databases to quickly acquire a complete citation in the style of your choice.

Exporting Citations to NoodleTools Using EbscoHost Databases

Exporting Citations to NoodleTools Using Gale Databases (Biography, Global Issues, Opposing Viewpoints, and Science)

Exporting Citations to NoodleTools using JSTOR

  1. In your "Projects" area, find the project you wish to share. 
  2. In that project's “Sharing” column, click the "plus sign +" icon to access the sharing settings panel.
  3. To give access to this project to an instructor, click the "share" button under "Share with an Inbox," and carefully type in the name of the inbox provided by the instructor and click "Done."
  4. To share a project with a student, open the sharing panel and select "add student" in the "student collaboration" area. Then type the other student's NoodleTools personal ID into the box. [Full Collaborator allows the other student to edit the project; Peer Reviewer only allows comments.] Click "Done", and add more students if needed.
  5. The sharing status of a project is indicated in the "Sharing" column by an "inbox tray" icon. Click on that icon to access the sharing panel, and to make any sharing access changes [note that only an instructor can edit sharing access to their inbox.]

If you have a NoodleTools account from a previous school year, or you have not used your account in some time, you may be asked to revalidate before you can continue to your account.
 

If this occurs, please go to NoodleTools from the link on the CCC library database page.  This will take you to the SCCCD single sign on page (if you are on campus, revalidation should occur immediately after clicking the link).  Students: Use your student ID number for the username and your Canvas/email password.  Faculty/Staff: Use your district email username and password.  This should resolve the revalidate issue and you should be permitted to access your account once again.  If this does not resolve your issue, please email us and we will revalidate your account.  Be sure to include your name and Student ID, plus your NoodleTools ID if you remember this information. 

An annotated bibliography is a of works (information sources like journal articles, web pages, multimedia, and other source types) where each source is accompanied by a citation and a summary and evaluation of that source relative to one's research topic.

Once you have created citations for a research paper in NoodleTools, you can add annotations to each source and export a formatted annotated bibliography in same style as the citations used in the project.

  1. Create or open the existing NoodleTools project with the sources you would like to use for your annotated bibliography.
  2. Select a citation from your sources.
  3. Compose your annotation in the "Annotation" box of the citation builder; it will be the final section of the citation.
  4. Once you have completed annotations to all of your project's sources, select the "Export/Print" button near the top of the "Sources" page.
  5. If needed, the "Export/Print" area allows you to customize your output file, like page numbers and headings, etc. Otherwise, choose the file format for your annotated bibliography to begin the export/download of your file.