Internet Movie Database (IMDB)
An online database of information related to movies, television shows, actors, production crew personnel, video games and fictional characters featured in visual entertainment media. Can be searched by actor, director, country, character name, etc. (Advanced search is available – click “more” and then “power search”). It includes links to online published reviews and also features reviews submitted by users.
AllMovie
A comprehensive database including basic product information, cast and production credits, plot synopsis, professional reviews, biographies, relational links, and more.
Filmsite
Website dedicated to the study of film that is built around the idea of listing the 100 greatest films of all time with interpretive, descriptive review commentary and background history. Includes reference material including Academy Awards history, film genres, film terms, film history by decade, and trivia.
Senses of Cinema
An online journal from Australia that is devoted to the serious discussion of cinema. It includes critical evaluations of dozens of directors, film annotations, scholarly essays, top ten lists, and archived articles back to 2000.
Metacritic
Assembles about thirty reviews per movie from publications around the U.S., with links to the full reviews and gives each film an average rating based on the reviews. Attempts to include every new release, including limited releases and films that appear at film festivals and are reviewed in at least three publications.
UCLA Film and Television Archive
A unique resource for media study, the Archive constitutes one of the largest collections of media materials in the United States - second only to the Library of Congress in Washington, D.C. - and the largest of any university in the world. Its vaults hold more than 220,000 motion picture and television titles and 27 million feet of newsreel footage. The combined collections represent an all-encompassing documentation of the 20th century.
Wisconsin Center for Film & Theatre Research
"It may come as a surprise to learn that Madison, Wisconsin, far from the bright lights of Hollywood and New York, is the home of the one of the largest and most significant collections of media history in the world."
