Research - Articles and More - Black History Month - LibGuides at Clovis Community College (CA)

Research Articles

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Specialized databases cover subjects such as psychology, religion, health, and political science.
America: History and Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This full-text database covers the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. With hundreds of full-text journals and books, this database is a key reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
Exploring Race in Society This link opens in a new window
Sources related to current and historical issues on race in society, ethnicity, diversity and inclusiveness, including scholarly journal articles, essays, and primary sources such as reports from government agencies.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text academic journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences dating from the earliest volumes to within the last 3-5 years.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context This link opens in a new window
Focuses on social issues. Provides journal, magazine, and newspaper articles as well as viewpoint essays, topic overviews, and recommended web sites.
Sociology Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Find essential materials related to social behavior and interaction. Topics range from gender identity, marriage and family, to demographics, political sociology, religion and socio-cultural anthropology.

OneSearch Library Catalog
The OneSearch library catalog is another valuable tool you can use to find thousands of articles online for research. Search many of our databases all at once and find Open Access content available free on the web.

Streaming Video

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive streaming video database of closed-captioned educational videos covering a wide range of topics.

Find more titles and segments in the Films On Demand "Sociology: African American Studies" category.

Periodicals: News & Magazines

America's News This link opens in a new window
Research diverse perspectives, topics and trends that align with areas of study such as Business, Health, Criminal Justice, Science, Humanities, Political Science and more. Features reliable, credible information from a wide variety of local, regional and national news sources, including The Fresno Bee.
Ebony Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Ebony covers civil rights, education, entrepreneurship and other social topics with an African-American focus. It includes more than 800 issues providing a broad view of African-American culture from its first issue in 1945 through 2014.
Los Angeles Times This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage back to 1985 is available from one of the leading sources of national and international news through ProQuest.
New York Times This link opens in a new window
Register for full access to news, multimedia, archives and apps. Select Clovis Community College and create a personal account to log in to nytimes.com

Biographies & Reference

Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Biographies of people - both current and historic - from respected reference sources with related full-text articles from hundreds of periodicals, and links to recommended sites.
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
The complete academic encyclopedia, related articles, images, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary.

Black History Month: Research - Articles and More

About Databases

Research Articles

Streaming Video

Periodicals: News & Magazines

Biographies & Reference

Find Ebooks with the Library Catalog