LibGuides: Music: Research Databases

About Databases

The library's databases are the best way to find trustworthy, credible information—like journal articles, eBooks, and audiovisual sources—for research purposes. All current students, faculty, and staff have free access to library databases from on and off-campus.

When accessing the databases from off-campus, you will be prompted to log in. Enter the same credentials you use to log in to SCCCD Canvas/email.

To get the full list of databases A to Z, visit our Articles: Research Databases page.

Useful Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate provides multidisciplinary information from full-text articles in peer-reviewed journals, popular magazines, and newspapers. Also included are specialized databases which cover many dozens of subjects. For tips on how to use our most popular database, check out the EBSCOhost research guide.
Biography In Context This link opens in a new window
Musicians, past and present, are available under the "Musicians" category when you select "Browse People." And for a quick search, enter a musician's name in the search box. Names in bold will have a helpful topic page with all sources on that individual in one place; otherwise, select from the search suggestions presented. You may have to search by an artist's given and/or most commonly used name(s).
Encyclopedia Britannica Academic Edition This link opens in a new window
This database contains the complete academic encyclopedia, related articles, images, and Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary. Find many entries, some particularly detailed, on music-related topics and musicians.
Eureka This link opens in a new window
A school-to-career database that provides information on colleges, universities, scholarships, occupations, and job search techniques. On Step 2, check the "Occupations" area to find information on music careers.
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive streaming video database of closed-captioned educational videos covering a wide range of topics, including a large category of "Music and Dance" films in the list of subjects.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text academic journal articles in the arts, humanities, and social sciences dating from the earliest volumes to within the last 3-5 years.
It is worth noting that the majority of the journal articles found using this database (as long as the item is not a book, book review, or editorial) will be peer reviewed.

The Latest Academic Journal Articles

Swaminathan, Swathi, and E. Glenn Schellenberg. “Musical Ability, Music Training, and Language Ability in Childhood.” Journal of Experimental Psychology: Learning, Memory, and Cognition, vol. 46, no. 12, 2020, pp. 2340-2348. APA PsychArticles, https://doi.org/10.1037/xlm0000798.

Drennan, Ian, et al. “From Claudius to Schubert. Some Thoughts on the Transformation of Words into Music.” International Review of the Aesthetics and Sociology of Music, vol. 50, no. 1/2, 2019, pp. 143–174. Jstor, www-jstor-org.cloviscc.idm.oclc.org/stable/26844663.

Denise, Dj Lynnée. “The Afterlife of Aretha Franklin’s ‘Rock Steady:’ A Case Study in DJ Scholarship.” Black Scholar, vol. 49, no. 3, 2019, pp. 62-72. Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection, https://doi.org/10.1080/00064246.2019.1619122.

* Note that these citations are in MLA style, but the Chicago Manual of Style is more frequently used for citing music research. Instructors will advise you which citation style to use for your assignments. You can find Chicago citation guidelines online at the Purdue O.W.L. website.

Research Tips: Seven Steps to Success

`1.` Start early! Procrastinating is tempting, but productive research takes a while, so make sure you give yourself plenty of time

2. Ask your librarians for help

3. Ask yourself questions; your own research questions can turn into keywords to use in searches

4. Create a list of search terms; find synonyms, and broader and narrower terms related to your original question, and have these ready to enter into search tools like the library catalog or databases

5. Web searches are OK to get started on research, such as getting clarification on a topic; but remember to use library research databases to get information sources that are both credible and free

6. Give credit where credit is due; cite your sources, and when it doubt, just cite it!

7. Don't forget to proofread your paper (Bonus: have a friend or tutor give your paper a read-through)

Music: Research Databases

About Databases

Useful Databases

The Latest Academic Journal Articles

Research Tips: Seven Steps to Success

1. Start early! Procrastinating is tempting, but productive research takes a while, so make sure you give yourself plenty of time

`1.` Start early! Procrastinating is tempting, but productive research takes a while, so make sure you give yourself plenty of time