LibGuides: Digital Humanities Resources: Music

Digital Musicology Projects

Miscellaneous Projects
Archives

Linked Jazz
The project draws on jazz history materials in digital format to expose relationships between musicians and reveal their community network. New modes of connecting cultural data have the potential to open up new and unprecedented avenues of research and community engagement.
The Musical Geography Project
Musicologists use maps to tell stories about the movement of music and musicians, as well as to contextualize music history within broader social, cultural, and political history.
Paisajes sonoros históricos (c.1200-c.1800)
This is a website designed to explore historical urban soundscapes in Andalusian cities, aided by the outreach potential made possible through new technologies. This innovative approach will allow users to recreate music of the past in historical locations through the use of online interactive maps with digital resources (documents, videos, sounds, etc.).
Themefinder
Themefinder provides a web-based interface to the Humdrum thema command, which in turn allows searching of databases containing musical themes or incipits.

African American Sheet Music (Brown University)
This collection consists of over 1400 pieces of African-American sheet music dating from 1820 through 1920. The collection includes many songs from the heyday of antebellum black face minstrelsy in the 1850s and from the abolitionist movement of the same period.
British Library Sounds
British Library Sounds presents 50,000 recordings and their associated documentation from the Library’s extensive collections of unique sound recordings which come from all over the world and cover the entire range of recorded sound: music, drama and literature, oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.
Silent Film Sound and Music Archive
SFSMA was established in 2014 with the goal of digitizing and sharing music for the silent cinema (c.1895-1930) for research and performance use. The archive includes sheet music for film, cue sheets, instruction manuals for film accompanists, and a bibliography of resources on silent film sound and music.
Songs of the Victorians
An archive of parlor and art song settings of Victorian poems, and also a scholarly tool to facilitate interdisciplinary music and poetry scholarship.
UCSB Cylinder Audio Archive
The UCSB Library invites you to discover and listen to its online archive of cylinder recordings and learn about how these sounds and songs create an audio history of American culture.
Yiddish Sheet Music (Brown University)
The Yiddish language sheet music in this digital collection, focused on music of the Yiddish-language musical stage, is part of the large Sheet Music Collection at the John Hay Library. The digital collection is composed of public domain (pre-1923) titles; when the project is completed it is expected that it will be comprised of approximately 700 titles.

General Resources

Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM)
This website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. The site is organized topically and provides a rapid search tool for specialties within heterogeneous collections.
Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (Stanford)
The Stanford Center for Computer Research in Music and Acoustics (CCRMA) is a multi-disciplinary facility where composers and researchers work together using computer-based technology both as an artistic medium and as a research tool.

Music and Computer Analysis

Music theorists, musicologists, performers, composers, and conductors are frequently faced with challenges that can typically only be solved through manual labor. In recent years, many music professionals have begun applying heuristic and machine learning approaches to tackle these problems.

Here's a brief introduction to musical analysis by computer.